Skip to content

Why @TheMaverick21 Is a Callous Poseur

December 2, 2014

@TheMaverick21 is the Twitter handle of a guy who claims to play golf for a living, has an avatar of a man holding the hand of a man in a wheelchair(which I think looks like he’s trying to pull the guy out of his wheelchair) who is telling me that he will bring me to Texas for a $9 an hour customer service job, including bus fare, a week in a furnished apartment, and a lead to a night job at a security desk because he is so magnanimous and charitable.  I think his offer is shit, so of course my Twitter cyberbullies gang up on me, although I have yet to meet a person in real life who thinks his offer is any good.  For the record, I would take such a job were it local, although it is unlikely I could afford to move out of the shelter on that income, although it would be a start.

I’ll quote Linda Tirado as to why:

As I’ve pointed out already, lots of adults are getting just pennies over the minimum wage–and I’d argue that your average adult does his job, however lowly, a damn sight better than most teenagers.  and when you think about how insignificant a raise of even fifty cents above the minimum turns out to be, it’s hard not to feel devalued–as if the sum of your accomplishments amounts to some nickels and dimes. [@TheMaverick21 knows that I have a master’s degree, but like many right-wingers, thinks that liberal arts degrees are worthless.]

But let’s put all frustration aside and talk about what it actually means to make minimum wage.

Working for minimum wage (or, as we’ve already established, close to it) means that making a long-term budget is an exercise in wishful thinking.  You  just have however much money you have until you run out, and you pay whatever bill is most overdue first.  When I was working in Ohio at a fast-food joint, I’d generally get about twenty-five hours in a week, making my weekly check $187.50.  My husband, working forty hours at the same place, brought home $300.  We made about $25,000 or so between us, working every week of the year.  that’s a little over $9,000 above the poverty line for a family of two, or an extra $200 or so per week.  We made ends meet, but barely.  Not well enough to ever really feel comfortable or rest or take a day off without feeling guilty.  And we were at the top of the bottom third of households that year, meaning that approximately one-third of the America [sic] population is living on the same sort of budget.

Or, for some, a much smaller one. The yearly income of a forty-hour-a-week minimum wage worker is $15,080.  So if you’re paying half of that for housing, you’re left with $7,540 to live on.

Yearly.

That’s $628 per month, $314 per paycheck, for everything else–food, clothes, car payments, gas.  If you’re lucky, you get all that money to live on.  But who’s lucky all of the time, or even most of the time?  Maybe you get sick and lose your job.  Even if you land a new job, that measly $314 is all you’ve got to live on until your paychecks at the new place start up.  Or what if, God forbid, the car breaks down or you break a bone?

But all, right, let’s increase that salary.  Let’s be kind and bump it up well above the median fast-food worker’s pay.  If you’re doing okay, making, say $10 an hour [more than @TheMaverick21 offered] , that’s $20,800.  that leaves you with $10,400 to live on annually, $867 monthly, $433 per paycheck.  Before taxes. (Which, by the way, we pay plenty of.) Not that $100 doesn’t make a giant difference, but it’s not like you’re rolling around in money like Scrooge McDuck simply because you’re earning better than the absolute least that can be legally paid.

Of course, those scenarios ate if you are absolutely jacked, with half your income going to rent.  If we go with the old one-third recommendation, then your disposable income by paycheck rises a bit to $418 for those making minimum and $577 if you’re at double digits.

So, let’s go with the more generous number.  Say you make $10 an hour and you pay a third of that in rent.  That’s going to give you $1,066 a month to spend.  You pay your utilities and for gas to get to work.  Food and household stuff.  Maybe you now have $500 left.  and that’s assuming, of course, that you have no medical bills or prescriptions or debts.  and that’s before taxes.

The truth is that what you’ve got left from all that work you’ve been doing is about $10 per day to spend on anything other than the barest necessities–and that’s based on the premise that you live in a shitty apartment, eat cheaply, and work a full-time job with no missed days.  Then, if you do all those things and you are unburdened by debt [I have $65,000 in student loan debt] and medical issues [of which I have plenty], you can do any number of things with your free time! You can rent a movie and buy microwave popcorn.  You can drive to the nicer section of town and have fancy coffee.  With $10 a day to spend to your whim, the world is your oyster.  Hell, you could even buy a can of oysters.

I’m hoping I’m not being too subtle here, because this is what it comes down to:  The math doesn’t fucking work.  You can’t thrive on this sort of money.  Period.  You can survive.  That’s it. (8-11)

I’m surviving in New York.  Why the hell would I move to Texas (where I have no desire to go) to merely survive.  Anyone who thinks that @TheMaverick21’s offer is generous belongs in a padded cell.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Flower permalink

    I’m not really sure why I decided to leave a reply. I hope you realize and understand that it is in good faith. I’m not attempting to “cyber-bully” you or make you feel more miserable about your circumstances. For some reason, your story caught my attention above all the others like it. Above the clamour of “Raisethewage”, you gained my interest. I rarely waste my time trying to reach out because, frankly, no one wants to listen and they are actually more comfortable in their circumstances than they are stepping out to make a change…..I fear you are like that, but for some reason, I hope you are not.

    First, while I don’t know you, I’ve read enough to understand your thought process, and you are not alone. There are millions who think like you, and I don’t think it’s your fault. Sadly our education system has failed millions by not giving them the proper ideology or armed them with the skills to build wealth. You squabble over the minimum wage (which raising will never make those who earn it secure) and raise your fist at “the man”.

    I’m going to tell you the secret to success and wealth, it’s something that most American children used to learn in elementary school. It’s simple enough, that I will teach my children around the age of 12 and I fully expect them to comprehend and make use of it. If you are not willing to alter your ideology, you will never be wealthy unless you get very very lucky. Oh you might stumble into some comfort, but you will probably always be looking over your shoulder in fear of poverty. The poor are poor because they think like poor people, sorry, I know that makes the poor mad because then it becomes their responsibility. The rich are rich because they think like rich people. I read your words and I shake my head, it’s like watching someone who weighs 500 lbs tell me that they can’t control their weight as they eat a hot fudge sundae out of a gallon bucket. I know you are sincere, but I’m telling you with all honesty, you can’t see the forest for the trees, you have to alter your perspective.

    First, there are no excuses. None. I have a friend who is paralyzed from the waist down, his wife walked out on him and left him with twin toddlers to care for all by himself. He’s successful, his kids are growing up just fine. He drives, plays basketball, swims, rides horseback, climbs mountains, works, and lives life better than most of the rest of the people I know. I could give you example after of example of those who life has dealt a tough hand and it didn’t stop them or even slow them down. Attitude is everything. You’ve got serious physical ailments, you can either use it to wallow in self pity, or you can decide to succeed anyway.

    Second, sometimes we don’t get what we want out of life. You have chosen a city, career path, and direction. You are determined to stick with that at all costs. Do you realize the cost to you is homelessness? You don’t want to move to TX. How about ND? Idaho? I could pull up numerous job openings in numerous states on Monster right now. You might not get to write novels or plays, but you could certainly be better off financially. I have a degree that I worked hard to get……that I have never used. It’s ok, I’m better off anyway. I’m happier with where I ended up. How can you be sure that you wouldn’t be too?

    Third, and this one is maybe the most important…..failure is not only ok, it should be expected and even embraced. I can tell you from the vantage point of reasonable success at midlife, that I treasure….yes treasure…..my failures. My mistakes are by far the best things that ever happened to me. I know so many ways not to do things, that I make much better choices now, and generally with ease. That’s not saying I don’t hate failure….I do….I just recognize that it is useful to me if I let it be.

    Finally, yes, you can use a minimum wage job to get out of poverty. And yes, you can do it on $10 a week, the math DOES work. It would take enormous restraint, because it would require little to no extracurricular activites for up to several years. It would mean no Starbucks, no movies, etc. There are several books that give you very detailed, step by step, ways to accomplish this. The Automatic Millionaire is one and Rich Dad Poor Dad is another. I think you can check them out at the library or even get them in pdf form off the internet. I really do wish you well and I hope you find happiness, and most of all I hope you can pull yourself out of homelessness. If I angered you, then I do apologize, that was definitely not my intent.

    • The only reason people get wealthy is because they are very lucky. See my review of Capital in the 21st Century.

      The math does not work. I’m not asking for Starbucks, and most of my film watching was done with DVDs from the library before I became homeless.

      You’re sticking up for a system that works for only the few and then blaming the people it exploits for being victims.

    • “I could pull up numerous job openings in numerous states on Monster right now.” and “I’ve read enough to understand your thought process” are contradictory statements. You do realize that my efforts with such job boards have had a 0.8% response rate? That means if I moved to ND or ID (neither places I want to move, especially without a job lined up), I would have a 99.2% chance of freezing to death, since, unlike New York, those states have no right to shelter law. Your argument about the math working in response to my quoting Tirado on the math not working is an incredibly weak defense. You seem to be a victim of a variant of the Stockholm Syndrome–embracing your oppressor by focusing too hard on the bright side of your oppression.

    • Also, please explain how thinking like a rich person is going to get me a good job. I thought like a rich person when I earned my bachelor’s degree. It didn’t help me get a good job. I got crappy temp jobs that I wish I could get now.

Leave a comment