Skip to content

My Case Manager Is Not Psychotic

November 7, 2014

My case manager had me meet with him today and started telling me about people who were formerly incarcerated are having an easier time finding jobs than I am. Then I reminded him of all my medical issues, and he understood. He said I should try to be a case manager since I’ve been in the system that long, but even with advanced degrees in psychology, he knows from experience how competitive it is to be a case manager. I mentioned the one I know form Occu-Evolve who has social work experience, and yet has been through the shelter system and is currently renting a couch from a fellow Occupier. He didn’t even want to try to write down all the names of my conditions, but he said that they sound extremely painful and limiting. He asked if the job developer at the shelter had been any help, and I said no. He told me my resume looked like it was for a $50,000 a year job that he would not be able to find for me. He said he’d call the number on my resume when he had “fixed” it for a lower-level admin job. I have yet to receive a call. Perhaps he forgot, or thinks that he shouldn’t have to call because I sleep in the building where he works, but there is a P.A. system in the building, too, even though it works like crap and the speaker nearest my room is in particularly bad shape. That one, when working, could wake me up, but the one around the corner and behind a door can’t. I struggle to understand it while awake.

Of course, this doesn’t prove that my case manager isn’t psychotic, it just proves that my suspicion that it was memory and not psychosis that was leading him to push me toward a job that I couldn’t do for more than an hour or so at a time. He didn’t go into his preaching in the cafeteria today, though, even though he ate breakfast with us. It does prove that there is something extremely unhealthy in the U.S. economy when it is easier for an ex-felon to get paying employment than someone with an advanced degree and a disability.

2 Comments
  1. Jenny permalink

    Try changing careers. I was on a similar situation. I have bachelors in Economics with Honors. Couldnt find a job, and with Multiple Sclerosis I needed urgently a good medical insurance. Ended up with a MS in Computer Science (and heavily indebted, but worth it!) and got 2 entry-level job offers above 70K. Both offers allowed for telecommuting 🙂

    • I’m already heavily indebted, over $65,000. Economics is supposed to be one of the most lucrative of all majors. My brother got a B.A. in computer science in 1994. He was hired before that contingent upon finishing his degree. By 1999, when I earned my B.A., computer science majors were so commonplace that they were struggling to find jobs. Given the difficulty my brother, a math guy, had with the calculus requirements, and the fact that I flunked out of pre-calculus, I don’t think an M.S. in computer science is a viable route for me.

Leave a Reply

