Skip to content

Transferred to The Bowery Mission

August 5, 2014

The Bowery Mission shelter at 45-51 Avenue D isn’t too bad since you get your own room–14 men on a floor, although it’s a half hour walk to the nearest subway station. At least the bus comes once every few minutes through most parts of the day and week. The room is only slightly larger than my area at previous shelters, but at least it’s private. There is a lot of B.S. in the handbook involving preparing people for food service and maintenance jobs, but I will presumably be exempt from these between my medical documentation and my employment status. They don’t give bag lunches unless you are working, so I’ll be going kind of hungry until Monday. Still, I immediately had two extremely valid complaints for the commissioner of DHS:

Thank You For Filling Out This Form

Shown below is your submission to NYC.gov on Tuesday, August 5, 2014 at 11:03:08

This form resides at http://www.nyc.gov/html/mail/html/maildhs.html


 

NAME of FIELDS

 

DATA

 

Message Type: Complaint
Topic: Other
Contact Info: Yes
M/M: Mr.
First Name: Scott
Middle Name: A
Last Name: Hutchins
Company: Bowery Mission
Street Address: 45-51 Avenue D
Address Number: 306
City: New York
State: NY
Postal Code: 10009
Country: United States
Work Phone #:
Email Address: scottandrewhutchins@yahoo.com
Message: (1/2) There are signs all over the shelter, even in the elevator, demanding surrender of prescription medication to the operations manager. This is an illegal and unconstitutional breach of privacy, and the shelter should not have a right to kick out tenants based on non-compliance with this rule. In my case, I will simply forget to take my medicine if I dont have it in my room.

(1/2) There are signs all over the shelter, even in the elevator, demanding surrender of prescription medication to the operations manager. This is an illegal and unconstitutional breach of privacy, and the shelter should not have a right to kick out tenants based on non-compliance with this rule. In my case, I will simply forget to take my medicine if I dont have it in my room.

 

Thank You For Filling Out This Form

Shown below is your submission to NYC.gov on Tuesday, August 5, 2014 at 11:17:59

This form resides at http://www.nyc.gov/html/mail/html/maildhs.html


 

NAME of FIELDS

 

DATA

 

Message Type: Complaint
Topic: Other
Contact Info: Yes
M/M: Mr.
First Name: Scott
Middle Name: A
Last Name: Hutchins
Company: The Bowery Mission
Street Address: 45-51 Avenue D
Address Number: 306
City: New York
State: NY
Postal Code: 10009
Country: United States
Work Phone #:
Email Address: scottandrewhutchins@yahoo.com
Message: (2/2) The shelter can show the Callahan inspectors that there are three showers on the sleeping floor (I dont know if they all work), but the reality is that two of them are kept locked at all time. Beginning Monday, April 11, I will be starting a new job at which I need to report at 8:30 AM. If I am late to my job and lose it as a result of lack of access to a shower, the shelter can expect a 32,000 lawsuit–roughly a years salary. The building is not air conditioned (nor are we allowed to put one in), and an air conditioner just outside my window in the facing building increases the heat in my room, making showering in the evening not particularly useful. Please enforce the opening of the other showers.

 

Use the link to return to the Form

 

(2/2)  The shelter can show the Callahan inspectors that there are three showers on the sleeping floor (I dont know if they all work), but the reality is that two of them are kept locked at all time. Beginning Monday, April 11, I will be starting a new job at which I need to report at 8:30 AM. If I am late to my job and lose it as a result of lack of access to a shower, the shelter can expect a 32,000 lawsuit–roughly a years salary. The building is not air conditioned (nor are we allowed to put one in), and an air conditioner just outside my window in the facing building increases the heat in my room, making showering in the evening not particularly useful. Please enforce the opening of the other showers.

 

(The NYC.gov system cannot handle apostrophes, quotation marks, dollar signs, and I don’t know what other characters.)

 

Before the guards at Bronx Park Avenue  got lax and didn’t call out my prescription medicine, I didn’t forget to take my medication most of the time, but I did sometimes, and that is my point.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

