Skip to content

William Edstrom, Psychotic for Congress

July 9, 2014

Some time back, William Edstrom, Green Party candidate for Congress in the Bronx, came to Picture the Homeless attempting to recruit people to run for New York State Assembly on the Green Party ticket.  I said that I might be interested, but we didn’t stay in touch.  At the Koch Party last month, William was there and gave me he e-mail address.  I reregistered as a Green, following his instructions to do so at the Manhattan office because the Bronx office is so controlled by the Democrats that they shred any change of party ballot from Democrat (with which I had registered from unaffiliated only in a botched attempt to vote against Christine Quinn in last year’s mayoral primary) to Green.

Julia Willebrand, three time candidate for comptroller on the Green ticket, told me she wasn’t crazy about William Edstrom, but highly encouraged me to run anyway, even though Edstrom was involved in the process the entire way.

The original plan was to petition on July 4, but it was postponed to Saturday because of the weather.  He had wanted to try earlier, but I didn’t think I could handle all that walking without a cane.  He said that there were 25 registered Green Party candidates, and that we need only 5%, or 1.8, i.e. two signatures to get on the ballot.  On Saturday, we were to meet at the Bronx Museum, which is in walking distance from the shelter and near the subway.  I was running late, and he was running even more late.  I texted him that I was inside the museum, and he found me as soon as I came down from the second floor.

He updated his list and had a few more registered Greens, but we still needed only two signatures on the petition to get me on the ballot.  We managed to get the second when we had only three left, and in spite of hobbling on my cane, I figured we were close enough physically to the others that we should attempt them, without success.  He couldn’t tell how badly I was limping until I picked up the cane and showed was it looked like when I walked without it.  We started around 11:15, rode the bus only twice, and by the time we parted at the 167 Street D station, it was a little after 6 PM, at which point I walked back to the shelter, had dinner, and rested for the remainder of the evening.

The last steps were to complete filling out the addresses on the petition, get it, the acceptance letter, and a contributions signed and notarized in to the Board of Elections headquarters in lower Manhattan before midnight on Thursday, July 10.  The plan was to do so on Monday, when it might slip in without the three days anyone has to challenge my candidacy, which may have come up because my party almost certainly had not been changed, and they are usually set to challenge on Thursday, not Monday.

The conversations he had with me on the trip showed a man driven by conspiracy theories.  He summed up Picture the Homeless as an organization that makes $450,000 a year and does nothing but come up with a million different ways of asking for free real estate and getting no for an answer, opined that my homeless situation was the result of conspirators who dislike my political activism, and talked about how government agents would come into his house and move things around just to show him they were on to them.

That was a preview of the insanity that then took place via text and e-mail:

William Edstrom:  Petition is good, tues at 3 is ok. what is your complete address?
Sent 2:59 AM 07/07/2014|Stored 6:12 AM 07/07/2014

Scott Hutchins: Residence: 3339 park ave bx 10456. Mailing [street address and apartment number redacted from blog] nyc 10019. i like as little mail going to the shelter as possible, esp bc it doesn’t forward.
Sent: 07:36 AM 07/07/2014

William Edstrom:  What floor do you live on?
Sent: 01:44 PM 07/07/2014|Stored 1:56 PM 07/07/14

Scott Hutchins: Rm 104.
Sent: 05:38 PM 07/07/2014

Scott Hutchins: Sorry dead battery-can’t charge at shelter after 9 pm-before curfew.
Sent: 05:48 PM 07/07/2014

Scott Hutchins: I’m going to the soup kitchen at all souls if you need me to sign anything.
Sent: 06:15 PM 07/07/2014

William Edstrom: I cannot haggle with you for the 2 items of information, name and complete legal address of residence.  They are both short answer questions.
Sent 10:23 PM 07/07/2014

Scott Hutchins: What are you still missing?
Sent: 10:25 PM 07/07/2014

William Edstrom: I also cannot listen to anymore long stories, unrelated responses, unsolicited personal information, in response to asking a relevant short answer question.
Sent 10:29 PM 07/07/2014

Scott Hutchins: All i did was explain texting delay-phone wouldn’t stay on.
Sent: 10:30 PM 07/07/2014

Scott Hutchins: First floor.
Sent 10:32 PM 07/07/2014

Scott Hutchins: I have an unlimited metrocard, so please tell me where and when you want to meet to get this submitted.
Sent: 07:15 AM 07/08/2014

Scott Hutchins: Full legal name is scott andrew hutchins.
Sent 11:05 AM 07/08/2014

Me When and where do you want to meet so we can finish this? Scott Andrew Hutchins

To williamedstrom@yahoo.com
Jul 8 at 2:30 PM
When and where do you want to meet so we can finish this?
Scott Andrew Hutchins

William Edstrom I assumed you could answer two simple short answer questions by now. I was wrong. My bad. Whenever you feel like answering the 2 and only 2 SHORT ANSWER questions – i.e. name & address – that you need

To Me
Jul 8 at 3:37 PM
I assumed you could answer two simple short answer questions by now.  I was wrong.  My bad.  
Whenever you feel like answering the 2 and only 2 SHORT ANSWER questions – i.e. name & address – that you need to answer for the voter petition, let me know.
Me I texted these to you. If you didn’t get them, it’s a tech issue. Full legal name: Scott Andrew Hutchins Mailing address: [street address and apartment number redacted from blog], New York, NY 10019 Residential address: 3339 Park Ave Room 104, Bronx, NY 10456
To William Edstrom
Jul 8 at 3:43 PM
I texted these to you.  If you didn’t get them, it’s a tech issue.
Full legal name:  Scott Andrew Hutchins
Mailing address: [street address and apartment number redacted from blog], New York, NY 10019
Residential address:  3339 Park Ave Room 104, Bronx, NY 10456
 

Scott Andrew Hutchins

 

“The venerable belief in sacrifice is probably itself a behavior pattern drilled into the subjugated, by which they reenact against themselves the wrong done to them in order to be able to bear it. Sacrifice as representative restoration does not reinstate immediate communication, which had been merely interrupted, as present-day mythologies claim; rather, the institution of sacrifice is itself the mark of an historical catastrophe, an act of violence done equally to human beings and to nature.”–Max Horkheimer and Theodor W. Adorno, trans. Edmund Jephcott
Me On Tuesday, July 8, 2014 3:43 PM, Scott Hutchins <scottandrewhutchins@yahoo.com> wrote: I texted these to you. If you didn’t get them, it’s a tech issue. Full legal name: Scott Andrew Hutchins Mailing

To Green Party Candidate
Today at 10:32 AM
I texted these to you.  If you didn’t get them, it’s a tech issue.
Full legal name:  Scott Andrew Hutchins
Mailing address: [street address and apartment number redacted from blog], New York, NY 10019
Residential address:  3339 Park Ave Room 104, Bronx, NY 10456

Scott Hutchins: So when are we going to get docs signed and notarized?
Sent 07:52 PM 07/08/2014

Green Party Candidate Scott, I’m concerned about your ability to follow simple instructions. I’m also concerned about your ability to answer a couple of simple questions needed for the voter petition, i.e. name & address.

To Me
Today at 12:42 AM
Scott,

I’m concerned about your ability to follow simple instructions.  I’m also concerned about your ability to answer a couple of simple questions needed for the voter petition, i.e. name & address.  I’m concerned about your readiness to be a candidate in 2014.
Do you think you’re ready in 2014 to be a candidate or perhaps in 2016 you may be more ready, more outwardly focused on the voters, the potential voters, on the solutions to problems & how to achieve solutions like housing for all, Medicaid for All, fair taxes, free public colleges, improving the quality of education for the children & so forth?
William
Me I texted you the answers and e-mailed you the answers. What more do you want??? Scott Andrew Hutchins http://www.linkedin.com/pub/scott-andrew-hutchins/1/5b2/93b https://scottandrewhutchins.contently.
To Green Party Candidate
Today at 10:28 AM
I texted you the answers and e-mailed you the answers.  What more do you want???

After leaving the public library, I called him, got his voice mail, and again supplied the information on his voice mail, saying that I didn’t appreciate him dragging a disabled person around for six hours on his cane only to pull shenanigans of this nature.  In fact, after supplying him with my address for the fourth time, all he got before the machine cut off was “I don’t appreciate being dragged around.” My tone may have been slightly hostile, but the texts he sent me were certainly hostily worded.

William Edstrom: Scott, I have doubts about your suitability to be a candidate this year. Your responses are confirming my doubts. I do not feel comfortable proceeding with your
Sent 12:00 PM 07/09/2014

William Edstrom: Petition at this time.  Any registered voter in the state of new York can witness a voter petition, pls feel free to seek another registered voter if you wish.
Sent 12:04 PM 07/09/2014

Scott Hutchins:  Your responses to me are extremely unprofessional. I’ve supplied you with my address four times and gotten very weird responses.
Sent: 12:43 PM 07/09/2014

William Edstrom:  I am not interested in helping you with your petition.
Sent: 12:47 PM 07/09/2014

Scott Hutchins:  then at least give it to me.
Sent 12:28 PM 07/09/2014

William Edstrom:  No.
Sent 12:29 PM 07/09/2014

Scott Hutchins: You’re a thief and a liar. I will be sharing our correspondence.
Sent: 12:51 PM 07/09/2014

After his Gul Dukat/Captain Picard treatment of me, he’s not getting my vote, and his antics belong in the purview of the public.  We need an alternative to the Democratic Party, but William Edstrom certainly isn’t it.  And without the addresses of the candidates, I will not be trying to re-collect the signatures with another registered voter, so District 77 will not have a Green Party candidate for State Assembly because William Edstrom cannot behave in a professional manner.

One Comment
  1. Will permalink

    I’m sure we can find a way to make things go more smoothly next year.

Leave a Reply

