Skip to content

Justice for Some

August 20, 2013

On Thursday, I had a final judgment against me for $1,963.27.  The court attorney said that if the case went to trial, I would have to be able to prove that I returned the keys to my Bronx apartment in February, as I believe that I did.  They claim that they received the keys on April 19, 2012, something I did not previously know, and that is why they demanded rent for April, which was beyond the terms of the lease.  As a result, I settled the case rather than pay for a month that I neither agreed to pay, nor had that for which I was paying.

Judge Ruben Franco made sure that I understood that the debt would screw up my credit and possibly interfere with future housing.  He also made clear that the debt would remain for 20 years, so the sooner I could clear it up, the better.  The judgment contains a contact name and phone number for arranging a payment plan once I am employed.

I do not consider it justice in the slightest that a rich landlord can make a poor person pay for two months (or more) rent on an apartment which the poor person had completely vacated.  I am reminded of Len Wein’s Untold Legend of the Batman, which my dad got for me at Cub foods as a mass market paperback.  It shows young Bruce Wayne taking a criminology course and finding the law that says a passenger in a joyride is equally guilty of manslaughter if the driver hits someone.  The professor says that he is there to teach the law, not philosophical questions of justice.

 

The best conclusion I can draw is that justice is a myth.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. I blog frequently and I really thank you for your content.
    This great article has truly peaked my interest. I will book mark your site and keep checking for new
    information about once per week. I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

Leave a Reply

