Skip to content

DC Comics Library

July 15, 2013

stat_cabl1

These bookends featuring DC’s great occult storytellers, Cain and Abel, who hosted DC’s “Mystery” (fantasy/horror-lite) line in from the late sixties to early eighties and became supporting characters in Neil Gaiman’s The Sandman in 1989, would be the perfect bookends for my DC comics library, if I ever had $300 of disposable income to spend on such things.

I buy a lot of single-issue comicbooks, and I usually do not buy collected editions of things I have in single issues unless I find them VF+ dirt cheap or a creator is having a well-publicized struggle and asks fans for royalty help, as is the case with Steve Gerber. Normally, I keep such hardcovers and trade paperbacks on my regular bookshelf under the writer’s (or primary writer’s) surname, and they are boxed accordingly in my storage until they come out, unless I pulled them to read last time I was there, meaning they’re either in my locker or in easy reach in my storage.

My DC comics library of hardcovers and trades is as follows [updated 3/16/15]:

9-11 vol. 2 by Paul Levitz, Steven T. Seagle, Will Eisner, Joe Kelly, James Denning, Dwayne McDuffie, Richard Corben, Jo Duffy, Dan Abnett & Andy Lanning, Tom Mandrake, Kurt Busiek, Gary Fields, Pat McGreal, Josh Krach, Darwyn Cooke, Chuck Kim & Tim Sale, Jeph Loeb III, Hillary J. Bader, Rick Veitch, Mike Carey, Beau Smith, Ashley-Jayne Nicolaus, Mo Willems, Don McGregor, Ed Brubaker, Keith Giffen, John Van Fleet, Brian K. Vaughan, Jennifer Moore, Eddie Berganza, Ben Raab, Brian Azzarello, Amanda Palmer & Jimmy Palmiotti, Marv Wolfman, Peter Gross, Dan Jurgens, J.M. DeMatteis, Alex Simmons, Chris Segueira, Neal Adams, Stan Lee, Neil Gaiman, Jamie Delano, David S. Goyer & Geoeff Johns, Michael Moorcock, Andrew Helfer, Denny O’Neill, Sam Glanzman, Joe Kubert
The All New Atom, vol. 1: My Life in Miniature by Gail Simone
The All Star Comics Archives, vol. 1 by Gardner Fox
The All Star Comics Archives, vol. 2 by Gardner Fox
The All Star Comics Archives, vol. 3 by Gardner Fox
The All Star Comics Archives, vol. 4 by Gardner Fox
The All Star Comics Archives, vol. 5 by Gardner Fox
Animal Man, vol. 1 by Grant Morrison
Animal Man, vol. 2: Origin of the Species by Grant Morrison
Animal Man, vol. 3: Deus Ex Machina by Grant Morrison
The Books of Magic, vol. 1: Bindings by John Ney Rieber
The Books of Magic, vol. 2: Summonings by John Ney Rieber
The Books of Magic, vol. 4: Transformations by John Ney Rieber
The Books of Magic, vol. 5: Girl in the Box by John Ney Rieber
The Books of Magic, vol. 6: The Burning Girl by John Ney Rieber
The Books of Magic, vol. 7: Death After Death by John Ney Rieber
The Brave and the Bold, vol. 1: The Lords of Luck by Mark Waid
The Brave and the Bold, vol. 2: The Book of Destiny by Mark Waid
Cosmic Odyssey by Jim Starlin
Crisis on Multiple Earths, vol. 1 by Gardner Fox
Crisis on Multiple Earths, vol. 3 by Len Wein, Mike Friedrich
Crisis on Multiple Earths, vol. 4 by Cary Bates, E. Nelson Bridwell, Paul Levitz, Eliot S! Maggin, Martin Pasko
Crisis on Multiple Earths, vol. 5 by Gerry Conway
Crisis on Multiple Earths: The Team-Ups, vol. 1 by Gardner Fox, John Broome
DC Goes Ape by Gardner Fox, Otto Binder, John Broome, Bob Kanigher, Dave Wood, Elliott S! Maggin, Jim Starlin, E. Nelson Bridwell, Brian Augustyn, Joe Casey, Mark Waid
The Dead Boy Detectives by Jill Thompson
Death: At Death’s Door by Jill Thompson
Death: The High Cost of Living by Neil Gaiman
Death: The Time of Your Life by Neil Gaiman
The Demon by Jack Kirby
Different Ugliness, Different Madness by Marc Malès, Jonathan Tanner
Doctor 13: Architecture and Mortality by Brian Azzarello
Doctor Fate: Countdown to Mystery by Steve Gerber (finales by Adam Beechen, Mark Evanier, Mark Waid, Gail Simone)
The Doom Patrol Archives, vol. 1 by Arnold Drake
The Doom Patrol Archives, vol. 2 by Arnold Drake
The Doom Patrol Archives, vol. 3 by Arnold Drake
The Doom Patrol Archives, vol. 4 by Arnold Drake
The Doom Patrol Archives, vol. 5 by Arnold Drake
The Doom Patrol, vol. 1: Crawling from the Wreckage by Grant Morrison
The Doom Patrol, vol. 2: The Painting That Ate Paris by Grant Morrison
The Doom Patrol, vol. 3: Down Paradise Way by Grant Morrison
The Doom Patrol, vol. 4: Musclebound by Grant Morrison
The Doom Patrol, vol. 5: Magic Bus by Grant Morrison
The Doom Patrol, vol. 6: Planet Love by Grant Morrison
The Dreaming: Beyond the Shores of Night [1-9] by Terry LaBan, Peter Hogan, Alisa Kwitney
The Dreaming: Through the Gates of Horn and Ivory [15-19, 22-25] by Caitlín R. Kiernan
Fiddler’s Green: A Sandman Convention
Flex Mentallo: Man of Muscle Mystery by Grant Morrison
Jack Kirby’s Fourth World Omnibus vol. 1 by Jack Kirby
God Save the Queen by Mike Carey
Hard Time: 50 to Life by Steve Gerber and Mary Skrenes
John Constantine, Hellblazer: Original Sins [1-9] by Jamie Delano
John Constantine, Hellblazer: The Devil You Know [10-13, Annual 1, The Horrorist] by Jamie Delano
John Constantine, Hellblazer: The Fear Machine [14-22] by Jamie Delano
John Constantine, Hellblazer: The Family Man [23, 24, 28-33] by Jamie Delano
John Constantine, Hellblazer: Dangerous Habits [41-46] by Garth Ennis
John Constantine, Hellblazer: Bloodlines [47-50, 52-55, 59-61] by Garth Ennis
John Constantine, Hellblazer: Fear and Loathing [62-67] by Garth Ennis
John Constantine, Hellblazer: Tainted Love [68-71, Special 1, Vertigo Jam] by Garth Ennis
John Constantine, Hellblazer: Damnation’s Flame [72-77] by Garth Ennis
John Constantine, Hellblazer: Rake at the Gates of Hell [78-83, Heartland] by Garth Ennis
John Constantine, Hellblazer: Son of Man [129-133] by Garth Ennis
John Constantine, Hellblazer: Setting Sun [140-143] by Warren Ellis
John Constantine, Hellblazer: Good Intentions [151-156] by Brian Azzarello
John Constantine, Hellblazer: Black Flowers [181-186] by Mike Carey
John Constantine, Hellblazer: Staring at the Wall [187-193] by Mike Carey
John Constantine, Hellblazer: The Red Right Hand [223-228] by Denise Mina
John Constantine, Hellblazer: The Laughing Magician [238-242] by Andy Diggle
The Huntress: Darknight Daughter by Paul Levitz
I… Vampire by J.M. DeMatteis, Bruce Jones, Gary Cohn & Dan Mishkin, Mike W. Barr
JLA: Zatanna’s Search by Gardner Fox
Kid Eternity by Grant Morrison
Legends by Len Wein & John Ostrander
The Little Endless Storybook by Jill Thompson
Martian Manhunter: The Others Among Us by A.J. Lieberman
The Names of Magic by Dylan Horrocks
Neil Gaiman’s Midnight Days by Neil Gaiman & Matt Wagner
The Question, vol. 1: Zen and Violence by Denny O’Neill
The Sandman, vol. 1: Preludes and Nocturnes by Neil Gaiman
The Sandman, vol. 2: The Doll’s House by Neil Gaiman
The Sandman, vol. 3: Dream Country by Neil Gaiman
The Sandman, vol. 4: Season of Mists by Neil Gaiman
The Sandman, vol. 5: A Game of You by Neil Gaiman
The Sandman, vol. 6: Fables & Reflections by Neil Gaiman
The Sandman, vol. 7: Brief Lives by Neil Gaiman
The Sandman, vol. 8: Worlds’ End by Neil Gaiman
The Sandman, vol. 9: The Kindly Ones by Neil Gaiman
The Sandman, vol. 10: The Wake by Neil Gaiman
The Sandman: The Dream Hunters (prose) by Neil Gaiman
The Sandman: Endless Nights by Neil Gaiman
The Sandman Companion by Hy Bender
The Sandman: King of Dreams by Alisa Kwitney
The Sandman Presents: The Dead Boy Detectives by Ed Brubaker
The Golden Age Sandman Archives by Gardner Fox
The Sandman by Joe Simon and Jack Kirby
Sandman Mystery Theatre, vol. 1: The Tarantula by Matt Wagner
Sandman Mystery Theatre, vol. 2: The Face and The Brute by Matt Wagner
Sandman Mystery Theatre, vol. 3: The Vamp by Matt Wagner, Steven T. Seagle
Sandman Mystery Theatre, vol. 4: The Scorpion by Matt Wagner, Steven T. Seagle
Sandman Mystery Theatre, vol. 5: Dr. Death and The Night of the Butcher by Matt Wagner, Steven T. Seagle
Sandman Mystery Theatre, vol. 6: The Hourman and The Python by Matt Wagner, Steven T. Seagle
Sandman Mystery Theatre, vol. 7: The Mist and The Phantom of the Fair by Matt Wagner, Steven T. Seagle
Sandman Mystery Theatre, vol. 8: The Blackhawk and The Return of the Scarlet Ghost by Matt Wagner, Steven T. Seagle
Shade, the Changing Man, vol. 1: The American Scream by Peter Milligan
Shade, the Changing Man, vol. 2: Eye of the Beholder by Peter Milligan
Shade, the Changing Man, vol. 3: Scream Time by Peter Milligan
The Golden Age Spectre Archives by Jerry Siegel
Wrath of the Spectre by Michael Fleisher
Starman, vol. 1: Sins of the Father by James Dale Robinson
Starman, vol. 7: A Starry Knight by James Dale Robinson
Starman, vol. 8: Stars My Destination by James Dale Robinson
Superman: Emperor Joker by J.M. DeMatteis, Joe Kelly, Jeph Loeb II, Mark Schultz
Swamp Thing, vol. 1: The Saga of the Swamp Thing by Alan Moore
Swamp Thing, vol. 2: Love and Death by Alan Moore
Swamp Thing, vol. 3: The Curse by Alan Moore
Swamp Thing, vol. 4: A Murder of Crows by Alan Moore
Swamp Thing, vol. 5: Earth to Earth by Alan Moore
Swamp Thing, vol. 6: Reunion by Alan Moore, Steve Bissette, Rick Veitch
Swamp Thing, vol. 7: Regenesis by Rick Veitch
Swamp Thing, vol. 8: Spontaneous Generation by Rick Veitch
Swamp Thing, vol. 9: Infernal Triangles by Rick Veitch, Jamie Delano
Swamp Thing: Bad Seed [vol. 4, 1-6] by Andy Diggle
Swamp Thing: Love in Vain [vol. 4, 9-14] by Joshua Dysart
Swamp Thing: Healing the Breach [vol. 4, 15-20] by Joshua Dysart
Underworld Unleashed by Mark Waid
The Warlord: The Savage Empire by Mike Grell
Diana Prince, Wonder Woman, vol. 1 by Mike Sekowsky, Denny O’Neill
Diana Prince, Wonder Woman, vol. 2 by Mike Sekowsky
Diana Prince, Wonder Woman, vol. 3 by Mike Sekowsky
Diana Prince, Wonder Woman, vol. 4 by Denny O’Neill, Samuel R. Delany, Bob Haney, Robert Kanigher
Wonder Woman, vol. 3: Beauty and the Beasts by George Pérez
Wonder Woman, vol. 4: Destiny Calling by George Pérez

So, given my tastes, you can see why I think Cain and Abel would be the perfect guardians for my DC trades and hardcovers. I have trades and hardcovers from Marvel and other publishers, but given the bent of my DC collection, these two seem to fit.

Of course, for that, I would have to have significant disposable income, which I currently don’t.

From → comic books

18 Comments
  1. Do you not have a copy of Hellblazer Dead Boy’s Heart (collects #34-41)?
    I think it’s pretty rare.

    • I don’t believe it was actually printed. I made the Goodreads entry for it myself as a speculative collection for those issues, as I did with several uncollected story arcs, as others have done. They are included in the newest edition of _Dangerous Habits_, the one with a 6 on the spine. I read them in single issue format.

      • Ah ok. Thanks for that info! I have just bought 8 Hellblazer graphic novels but the old editions and the issues that would’ve been in Dead Boy’s Heart aren’t in there. My copy of Dangerous Habits collects issues 41-46.
        Guess I should’ve researched more thoroughly before buying the old ones?
        I knew they had less in them but not THAT MUCH less!
        I wish they’d just been more thorough at Vertigo when first putting them in trades. Cos everyone who bought the early editions have been kind of ripped off in my opinion.
        Oh well….

  2. Also Scott, it’s true that issues 108-128 aren’t currently in any trades, isn’t it?
    I’ve recently bought all those issues except 120, 121, 123 and 127. Partly cos I’ve run out of money and partly cos I can’t get issue 120!!!

    • I believe nothing between #83 and #128 are available in trades, although I suspect they will appear soon. I’ve been holding back because of all the different crossovers. Constantine appears in Underworld Unleashed, and so do a lot of characters I’m behind on like The Spectre. Which is partly to do with money and partly to do with having the complete War of the Gods crossover in multiple locations, which in turn affects reading The Children’s Crusade, which in turn affects reading Hellblazer/The Books of Magic (assuming I can find it when I’ve read up to it).

      • Can you explain the children’s crusade to me? Is it split between different titles?

      • The Children’s Crusade is the first and only Vertigo crossover series. It was a two-issue series written by Neil Gaiman and featuring Timothy Hunter and the Dead Boy Detectives, which crossed over into the annuals of all Vertigo titles that had a least one child in their main cast: The Books of Magic, Animal Man, Doom Patrol, Black Orchid, and Swamp Thing. I accidentally read past the crossover point in Swamp Thing and Books of Magic, but I’m right up to it in Doom Patrol and Black Orchid. With Animal Man, I left off reading at #39–#40 is a War of the Gods crossover, so it’s Animal Man that’s slowing me down in terms of progress with the early DCU Vertigo.

  3. Yes, I agree with you. I had to buy Neil Gaiman’s Midnight Days to get Hellblazer #27, but that wasn’t too bad because I didn’t have Sandman Midnight Theatre, and there is an exclusive story in it. I also bought the Grant Morrison stories as single issues. I also spent $30 on Rake at the Gates of Hell, which I ended up reading on one of my first days as a homeless person. I saw a copy of the new edition at Strand for $10.99, although the condition warranted the discount.

    • I got hellblazer #27 for around $5 inc delivery. How’s the homeless thing going? No hope of getting somewhere to live or a job?

  4. I might be getting a job as a dispatcher, but they were supposed to call me yesterday and still haven’t. It’s just as well. The pay was barely above minimum wage and I’m in a program that makes you leave the shelter within four months of getting a job (although there are other supports in place), and I’m scared that they will force me to stop paying for my storage, since the way the rules are written imply that I would be punished for doing so, and given that this is New York, on that wage, I wouldn’t be able to get a place where I could store the contents of my storage.

    They really did seem to make an effort to help me today. They’re trying to help me get a city job, but no one knows if the rule is in effect that the fee for the civil service test is waived for people on public assistance. No one has been able to show me anything in writing, and since I no longer have an unlimited ride Metrocard or the income to get one, I’m less than enthused about trying.

    • Just a thought. Can’t you take your collection to a storage facility in the sticks or a cheaper city (somewhere in jersey for example? I know it’d be a pain to get to see it or whatever but it might be an option until you get your life on track.
      I bet you could get a place for half what you’re currently paying.
      Alternatively you could always post your collection to me in London and I’ll look after it for you. Haha 🙂

      • This Sicilian guy at the shelter was telling me that if you can’t prove you’re of British blood (via a test) that Britain will take you in, although I don’t think that there’s any truth to it. I know that, in general, I’m 5/8 English, 1/8 Scots-Irish (father’s mother), and 1/8 German (mother’s father’s mother).

      • There isn’t a test that determines you’re of British ancestry. How could there be? It’s like saying there’s a blood test to determine if you’re from Florida.
        You can only determine if you’re of European descent (northern, southern, etc).

  5. It’s already in New Jersey, and it is a pain to get to. I’m still wearing my winter clothes, although that’s partly because I’m trying to make arrangements with a friend so I can get the stuff back that’s at his house when he took me in for two days when the staff said that I couldn’t bring all I had with me into the shelter on the day that I was transferred. That’s why I never finished reading the first volume of All-New Atom–it’s under his staircase right now.

  6. Oh, and they did find the evidence that being on P.A. lets you take the test for free, so I’m going in on the next test date, which is June 27.

    • Well my friend, best of luck with the civil service exam! That’s good that it’s free!
      The sicillian guy is incorrect. The UK is more likely to take you in if you can prove you’re NOT of British descent!!!
      There’s big problems here with mass, uncontrolled immigration now.
      People are starting to vote against it though. We have a lot of Islamic immigrants that try to dictate how things should be here. Instead of being grateful to get free housing, free healthcare, free schooling, etc etc they often still demand more. Not all of them but far too many.
      Plus there’s always the danger of them exploding themselves whilst sitting next to u on the subway or bus.
      Boils my piss man…..

Leave a Reply

