Skip to content

Infinite Human Stupidity

May 21, 2013

Sunday’s talk at Unity of New York was by Associate Minister Carlos Wayne Anderson (for long-time Unity people, he is the “Carlos” of the music act Carlos and Johnny that toured Unity churches in the 1980s), and in the midst of an already very powerful talk, he mentioned a quote attributed to Albert Einstein, “Two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I am not yet completely sure about the universe.”  (The attribution comes from Gestalt psychotherapist Frederick S. Perls, who must have heard him say it in person for it to be Einstein’s:  http://quoteinvestigator.com/2010/05/04/universe-einstein/ .)

One of the major themes of this blog is the infinity of human stupidity.  When relevant, I have brought up my homelessness in posts on YouTube, and I have gotten both sympathy and attacks.  I argue very strongly, for example, that the theory that if wealth were redistributed, it would NOT end up within the hands of the same people in a matter of years, as many right-wingers claim.  The major problem is that in the current economy, the haves lord over the have-nots with their wealth, when they are often far less intelligent, but simply have the resources.  Lately, it’s almost degenerated into “jocks vs. nerds.”

Francisco (Fransiscodely@hotmail.com) IP address: 69.143.126.243 [the e-mail bounced, so I assume that it’s fake.  The IP address is from Arlington, VA] describes my former employer, Amit Kumar, as “wise and correct” for knowing that I was a paycheck away from homelessness on the salary he himself was paying me.  That just makes his decision to fire me all the more perverse.  “Perversion” and “pervert” are good words for the people who oppose me.  Conservative homophobes love to use those terms with LGBT people (I know from a previous talk by Carlos how difficult someone in the B category has it), but how is it any less perverse to defend the wealthy exploiting the poor, and the government taking away the needs of the poor in order to subsidize the wants of the rich?  Anyone who thinks that someone with eight years of higher education and severe problems in their lower back and limbs should do menial food service labor is a pervert.

Take a look at this exchange on YouTube:

  • luvcheney1 2 weeks ago

    Gee, I moved to a new town in Calif in Jan. Took me one week to get hired, applied at two places. Didnt like the place, quit, got another job in 7 dats. Didnt like it, quit too. Took 2 weeks, off, will start looking this week, will be working by the end of next week. Been this way all my life. I`m 61

    Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to Scott Andrew Hutchins (Show the comment)
  • Scott Andrew Hutchins 

    Scott Andrew Hutchins 2 weeks ago

    Sounds like you work retail/fast food.

    Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to luvcheney1 (Show the comment)
  • luvcheney1 

    luvcheney1 2 weeks ago

    Sounds like YOU refuse retail/fast food? I used to run restaurants, for 30 tears. Before then, I started as minimum wage dish washer. Ended up running 6 stores, about 300 employees under me. Think food is minimum wage, when you have 300 under you? Afraid to work your way UP? But, I`m old, spinal laminectomy and fusion, shot to shit. So, I sell cars. I can lift a pen, and a credit app. And, its retail, and I dont make anywhere NEAR minimum.

    Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to Scott Andrew Hutchins (Show the comment)
  • Scott Andrew Hutchins 

    Scott Andrew Hutchins 2 weeks ago

    What part of “medically limited to a desk job” did you not understand???? Asshole.

    Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to luvcheney1 (Show the comment)
    • hofifut 

      hofifut 2 weeks ago

      For starters, get a job, and quit spending so much time reading propoganda or going on YouTube listening to people who confirm your leftist leanings. If you think being a boss is easy, nobody is stopping you from being one yourself.

      Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to Scott Andrew Hutchins (Show the comment)
    • Scott Andrew Hutchins 

      Scott Andrew Hutchins 2 weeks ago

      You’re an idiot. first of all, in the past 13 months, I have applied for 1,649 jobs, was granted 16 interviews, half of which were with staffing services, and received two offers for short-term freelance work. Telling me “get a job” is non sequitur. And there is a thing called money that is stopping me from being a boss myself.

      Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to hofifut (Show the comment)

      Scott Andrew Hutchins 2 weeks ago

      I can’t work in a restaurant. Would you want someone working in your restaurant who was in so much pain that they were moving very slowly two hours into a shift and having back spams and falling down 4 hours into a shift?

      Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to luvcheney1 (Show the comment)

      Scott Andrew Hutchins 

      Scott Andrew Hutchins 2 weeks ago

      and in spite of that limitation, I tried several retail stores where I would not be impacted by the dangers of a kitchen. They didn’t want me, at least not when I was honest on my application. If they had checked, however, I could have been prosecuted. Target’s app said so right on it.

      Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to luvcheney1 (Show the comment)

      luvcheney1 

      luvcheney1 1 week ago

      My surgeon said I am totally disabled. He told me he would help me. Guess what? I can work, and do. But, in the fucking off case you are limited to a desk job, let me suggest telemarketing. I have done it, my son has doe it. In fact, thats how he started out in sales, and ended up selling sofrtware for another company, after he had telemarketing experience. You know, the fucking job he “lied” sort of to get. BTW, telemarketing hires anyone with a ;pulse. And, you sit on your ass all day.

      Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to Scott Andrew Hutchins (Show the comment)
      • Scott Andrew Hutchins 

        Scott Andrew Hutchins 1 week ago

        I have been fired from three telemarketing jobs for low sales, so that doesn’t work. This lowball crap is ridiculous. I have an advanced degree.

        Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to luvcheney1 (Show the comment)
        • luvcheney1 

          luvcheney1 1 week ago

          OK, it`s far better for you to sit and wallow in defeat. The world sucks, It doesnt respect the stupid major you wasted your time and money in. Give up, stay home, and be poor. There, now I am the normal, politically Liberal person. It`s not your fault. Your life and situation is hopeless. Do you mind if I behave differently for myself? I dont actually accept having to lie down and fucking die.

          Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to Scott Andrew Hutchins (Show the comment)
        • Scott Andrew Hutchins 

          Scott Andrew Hutchins 1 week ago

          Translation: “I’m better than you because I am a sadomasochist. Not only do I not give a fuck if you put yourself in excruciating pain for a very low wage, but I don’t care if your having a back spasm near someone else knocks them into sharp or hot equipment.” You are obviously very proud of being an immoral and unethical person, as your insistence that I should lie exemplifies.

          Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to luvcheney1 (Show the comment)

          Scott Andrew Hutchins 

          Scott Andrew Hutchins 1 week ago

          My guess is that your disability is mental.

          Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to luvcheney1 (Show the comment)

          Scott Andrew Hutchins 

          Scott Andrew Hutchins 1 week ago

          And if it isn’t, I expect you’ll end up hurting someone, get sued for negligence, and then whine about tort reform like a typical Republican dumbass.

          Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to luvcheney1 (Show the comment)
          •  

            luvcheney1 1 week ago

            I have n idea why you think I`m going to hurt someone. You are afraid you are. So, you need to give up, let the rest of us support you. Isnt that what you want?

            Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to Scott Andrew Hutchins (Show the comment)
            • Scott Andrew Hutchins 

              Scott Andrew Hutchins 1 second ago

              If you have back spasms from prolonged standing the way I do, you are eventually going to hurt someone else if you stand and work in a busy commercial kitchen.

              I never said anything about giving up. all I said is that I am not willing to apply to jobs where I am a danger to myself and others.

              Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to luvcheney1 (Show the comment)
      • luvcheney1

        Comment removed

        Author withheld

        Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to Scott Andrew Hutchins (Show the comment)
      • luvcheney1

        luvcheney1 1 week ago

        This has been flagged as spam hide • Not Spam

        OK, you suck, Keep trying, you may get better. Hey, I got fired from auto sales before too. So? There are lots of places to work, some peole DO make money. Your advanced degree seems like it`s worthless. Do you want a prize, because you were too stupid to get an advanced degree in something not stupid?

        Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to Scott Andrew Hutchins (Show the comment)
                                  • BeingBayou 

                                    BeingBayou 2 weeks ago

                                    Sorry, but you just regurgitate pop culture opinions and slanders. You make fun of ‘rednecks’ because it’s socially acceptable and keeps people within a certain comfort zone. Poking fun at the white underclass allows us to make a few snide remarks without worrying about being politically incorrect. Similar jokes about the black underclass would make people uneasy because the conditions are so horrible.

                                    Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to josegevard
                                • Scott Andrew Hutchins

                                  Scott Andrew Hutchins 2 weeks ago

                                  This comment has received too many negative votes

                                  I am in the white underclass, but I’m not a redneck.

                                  Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to BeingBayou
                              • MonayJay

                                MonayJay 2 weeks ago

                                This comment has received too many negative votes

                                dude just accept your self it will make your life easier

                                Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to Scott Andrew Hutchins
                            • Scott Andrew Hutchins 

                              Scott Andrew Hutchins 2 weeks ago

                              So you think all poor whites are rednecks? I’ll have you know I was born in a northern city and have an advanced degree, yet I’m still poor because of the yahoos who run the economy.

                              Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to MonayJay
                          • TruthOasis

                            TruthOasis 2 weeks ago

                            This comment has received too many negative votes

                            You’re still poor because you’re degree is useless. I make $60,000 a year and all I have is a GED. Learn a trade, dumbfuck!

                            Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to Scott Andrew Hutchins
                        • Scott Andrew Hutchins 

                          Scott Andrew Hutchins 2 weeks ago

                          Trades are for brawny morons who can’t cut it in school.

                          Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to TruthOasis
                      • TruthOasis 

                        TruthOasis 2 weeks ago

                        Maybe, but I aint the one living in a homeless shelter, bitch.

                        Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to Scott Andrew Hutchins
                    • Scott Andrew Hutchins 

                      Scott Andrew Hutchins 2 weeks ago

                      I’m living in a homeless shelter because a grad school colleague I trusted ripped me off. Besides, your job is going to be shipped to China soon.

                      Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to TruthOasis
                  • TruthOasis

                    TruthOasis 2 weeks ago

                    This comment has received too many negative votes

                    I’m not an unskilled laborer, dumb shit and my job would be impossible to outsource. You fail again.

                    Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to Scott Andrew Hutchins
                • Scott Andrew Hutchins 

                  Scott Andrew Hutchins 2 weeks ago

                  Unlikely.

                  Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to TruthOasis
              • TruthOasis 

                TruthOasis 2 weeks ago

                I’m an auto mechanic. Do you really think people are going to ship there cars to China to get them fixed? 😄 I bet you used to work in a cubical doing tec support over the phone and now some Indian is doing your job for $2 an hour. haha, you fail at life! XDXDXDXD

                Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to Scott Andrew Hutchins
            • Scott Andrew Hutchins 

              Scott Andrew Hutchins 2 weeks ago

              No grease monkey is better at life than I am. I bet you can’t even pass the Pew Foundation science test.

              Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to TruthOasis
          • TruthOasis 

            TruthOasis 1 week ago

            And I bet you can’t eat a nice hot meal tonight at your home. The difference between you and me is the world needs me in it.

            Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to Scott Andrew Hutchins
        • Scott Andrew Hutchins 

          Scott Andrew Hutchins 1 week ago

          Mechanics are a dime a dozen, and most of them are scam artists who make things worse to make more money.

          Reply · Vote UpVote Down in reply to TruthOasis

As you can see, the jock/nerd confrontation definitely came up in the argument with TruthOasis.   Much of what I said deriding people in trades was targeted specifically against his anti-intellectual tirade.  Of course we need people in the skilled trades, but there are enough people who want to work in them that people like me who were nerds in school and have no interest in working on cars shouldn’t be the ones doing those jobs.  As far as shady mechanics, in addition to it being a commonplace occurrence on both news magazine and fiction television (I remember seeing it on <em>Dateline NBC</em> and numerous sitcoms, including <em>Alf</em>), I had first hand experience with them with Lee Myles Transmission on Forest Avenue in Staten Island in January 2006.  Mechanics who had supposedly repaired the engine of the van my father was letting me use were so incompetent that they left the screwdriver on top of the car, so I took it back and returned it.  This is litotes, because five days later the engine caught on fire and exploded before the fire department arrived.  A stupid NYPD officer made things worse by stopping me from approaching and informing the fire department that no one else was in the vehicle.  As a result, the fire department smashed all the windows so that I lost property inside the vehicle (including paperwork rendered illegible by the fire hoses) between damage and the theft that occurred when it was parked overnight.  Before the vehicle was towed away by the Department of Sanitation (the upstairs neighbor who kept making the death threats told me to sell the minivan for scrap, but as long as I had to park my van on a public street, there wasn’t time to prevent this), someone actually stole one of the seats, not that I needed it.  My father, who supervised everything via phone because it was his vehicle, contributed to the stupidity. One of his former business partners is (or was–his stepdaughter, whom I know back to elementary school, said that he got HIV and she didn’t know if he was still alive) a Pre-Paid Legal adviser, told him to send a formal letter through postal mail.  He did this and got no response.  I asked him for the receipts that I had mailed to him so that I could deal with it myself, which he didn’t do after numerous requests.  Eventually, I contacted Lee Myles Corporate and gave them the information that I had, which was limited in specifics because of the lack of paperwork.  They said that that franchise was closed, and that they knew nothing of the incident, and as such, it was too late.  Both my parents kept raising the issue of how much they had spent on making sure I had a vehicle, brushing aside the issue  that the net effect of the money spent was no car in a place where public transportation is terrible, which precipitated my move to the Bronx.  When I was fired in Jacksonville, my mother actually thought I should have stayed there in spite of my physical condition, the mass transit situation thrice as bad as Staten Island’s, and Jacksonville’s reputation as one of the least pedestrian-friendly city’s in the world, knowing full well that standing and walking are painful for me with herniated discs, sciatica, and plantar fasciitis.

Now the stupid right-wing media is praising Angelina Jolie as a hero because she got a double mastectomy because a doctor told her that she had an 87% chance of developing breast cancer in the future. To me, this rates as just slightly less stupid than Earl Zea cutting off his member with pruning shears to prevent a gay neighbor from stalking him.  The intelligent course of action would have been to get checked regularly and deal with it as a problem arises.  There is strong evidence for E.B. Weeks’s “I am a child of God, and I do not inherit sickness.”  What we inherit tends to be diet and habits that we learned that put us at risk.  I am not discounting the genetic factors, but to ignore environmental factors is just as stupid. The ancient Greeks identified cancer, but incidences of it have been rising because of lifestyle choices of the past hundred years.  This is also abetted by perverse companies that make money by making unhealthy food much more readily available and less expensive than healthy food, which, in Jolie’s case, should not be an issue.  Not only is it a bodily mutilation (with which her tattoos belie any objection), but she is deliberately putting herself at the risk of infection or having a reaction to anesthesia.  There is simply no possible way to justify a preventative amputation, but journalists seem to be eating it up as “bravery” and “heroism.”  Jolie and the press are tools of Big Pharma and the American Medical Association, the same lobbyists that want to put ridiculous caps on medical malpractice suits for life-destroying mistakes.  (For concrete examples, see http://www.informationliberation.com/print.php?id=8903 .)

For further stupidity, one need look no farther than the New York City Human Resources Administration.  Because I was finally able to get my public assistance case closed (and I hope I get a job before my unemployment runs out and I have to reopen one), storage payments are handled as a one-shot deal.  I still have to do the third stage of the application for one this Friday.  I was told that I would have to do the documentation delivery and the eligibility verification appointment even though I was going to be denied based on the fact that having over $2,000 in savings meant that I had sufficient resources to cover my storage myself.  Nonetheless, when I turned in documentation of my savings account, I actually had $1,829 after paying the storage bill (as well as a new supply of contact lenses) myself, which means that they will probably pay the storage facility the $280 requested, anyway.

In the shelter, I am surrounded by stupid people. One guy insisted that I limp because I am an ex-cop who got injured and that my tooth discoloration is the result of a cocaine addiction. (I have never tried cocaine, and, being a nerd who mostly attends only grown-up parties, I believe the only time I ever saw it in real life was when I was at Fat Cat Billiards on Christopher Street for Chrissy Michaels’s birthday party. Someone not from our party was doing lines off the top of the hand dryer in the men’s room.) When it rains, people complain that I leave my umbrella open on top of my locker. Residents and staff say that my mother should have taught me that an open umbrella indoors brings bad luck. That kind of talk reminds me of when my brother walked in on me watching The Wiz at the scene in which the company are cowering in fear at the Wizard’s voice coming through a loudspeaker outside the building, and he wondered why black people have to be portrayed as that stupid. As much as I have had negative things to say about my mother on this blog, my mother taught me that if you don’t let an umbrella open to dry out, it will grow mildew. I feel sorry for all these people whose mothers weren’t intelligent enough for the real threat of disease-breeding mildew to trump superstition. My expected move-out date was yesterday, but one can hardly move out of a homeless shelter on a weekly income of $112 without vast reserves of savings, not $1,829.

The most persistent theme when I discuss my homelessness on YouTube, other than the doubting that a homeless person could access YouTube (stupid in itself, since the poster presumably doesn’t use libraries), is that I need to get a job, am not making sufficient efforts to get a job if I spend *any* time on YouTube, or that there are resources available to help me get a job and make my points moot, none of which are reasonable or informed comments. Social Security refuses to help me because I can work a desk job. Project Renewal’s Next Step program put me with a job counselor who wasn’t doing anything for me that I couldn’t do myself. He simply did a Google search for admin jobs. He certainly didn’t have any leads that were of any use to someone of my abilities and needs. FEGS sent two people to interview for a temp admin job. The other person was late, so the job developer thought I was practically guaranteed the job, but the employer went with someone not from FEGS in spite of the tax write-off.

I would like to reiterate at this point that I did better than 93% of the U.S. population on Pew’s test of basic science, on which I got all thirteen questions right, and probably could have done so without the multiple choice responses. I tweeted to @realdonaltrump betting him $1,000 that he could not do better than me, stating that I am homeless, but he wouldn’t take me up. I am not the first person to ask him about IQ tests; however, but probably the first person living in a homeless shelter to do so.

In Robert Scheerer’s 1988 television remake of The Absent-Minded Professor, Harry Anderson, as Professor Henry Crawford, tells his class that nerds are the people who make real accomplishments in the world. Although I have not seen it since it was rerun later the same season, I am certain he was discussing overall academic achievers and not strictly STEM students. This was the same litany I heard from all my teachers, and, as a nerd (and certainly shows like Head of the Class said that there are a variety of nerds, not just math whizzes like Arvid Engen–nearly every one of them had a different strong suit from the others), I treasured it. Tradesmen and businessmen tell me that this was brainwashing, since teachers are not well paid, but are puffed up role models for young people; however, it does not take a very close examination of history to determine that what they were saying was mostly true at the time. I was 12 in 1988, and a college graduate in any field who was unemployed long-term was unheard of unless they did something blatant to mess up their life. It seems to me that a lot of the businesspeople were jocks and are taking revenge on the nerds by refusing to hire all but the least competent people. Too many times have people from the Department of Labor and various charitable organizations that try (and I emphasize try since, to date, I have not gotten an interview through anyone’s efforts other than my own) to help people into employment discussed “insecure” employers who don’t want to hire someone with more education or perceived higher intelligence or emotional security than they have. An ex-boss who treated me like garbage admitted to me that he is a “big baby” and that I, at $8.50 an hour, needed to serve his needs without any sort of clarification as to what those were. David Friedman saw this guy’s insecurity even without meeting him, and as I worked with David’s Thought Exchange process, I stopped (according to David) coming across as insecure and was fired within a matter of days. then there are the people who say that if the minimum wage were eliminated, I would have a job were I humble enough to accept it, but I ask them what the point of a job is if it pays so little that I qualify for the government benefits that they despise. This is perversion on their part. Long-time readers of this blog have surely noticed the vague attacks of “stupid” this blog has gotten, yet are unable to put forth a coherent explanation of why what I have said is unintelligent, foolish, or misguided other than leaping to asinine conclusions in which they ineptly try to demonstrate how something caused my homelessness. When someone can rattle off the names of people with B.A.s in English and communication and/or M.A.s in film and media who are homeless sans substance abuse or mental illness, they will have a case against me, and not before. Although Department of Homeless services records are kept confidential, if they were to volunteer, would they find anyone who could instantly provide them with proof of higher education, records of job search as soon as they could get on a computer, and high test scores at staffing agencies that don’t place them? In the 1990s, when I earned my B.A., it is highly unlikely that they would, but now it’s starting to become commonplace. I know the word “overqualified” is not a new coinage–E. Nelson Bridwell had Superman use it in Action Comics #561 (November 1984)–but I’m not sure it was in commonplace usage, especially in regards to job search. When Superman used it, it was because Red Kryptonite had split him into several beings, including a futuristic version of himself who had powers that he didn’t have the experience to utilize in the ways he could with his standard powers, which had destructive results. It is impossible for an intelligent person to believe that someone of my skills and physical limitations can be utilized in retail-fast food, telemarketing, or industrial trade work. And this is the crux of the problem–the near-zero sum game of capitalism has destroyed the job market such that very few people can be utilized–used, yes, but not utilized. Marx’s main point, as Terry Eagleton details, was utilization and leisure, concepts that are anathema to the exploitative capitalists that favor the wealthy person enslaving, or nearly so, those who are economically disadvantaged, especially if those they enslave are, in most if not all other ways, of superior ability.

7 Comments
  1. Another thing that commonly gets attacked is my work ethic. I doubt I could refute that better than this guy:

    MrTDog1982 3 days ago
    I though GPA stands for Grade Point Average? If you have a low GPA you wouldn’t be accepted into most universities…would you? And if your work ethic is shoddy then surely attaining 2 degrees would be unreachable.
    Reply · in reply to sovietamerican2

    Someone else claimed that my lack of employment was the result of lack of will. I asked her to explain how one wills oneself into a job. She didn’t reply. Apparently she is secretly a member of the Green Lantern Corps.

  2. One of my friends e-mailed me a response to this entry saying that “My guess is that your disability is mental” was an insult reducing myself to luvcheney1’s level. I admitted that this indicated that I had only skimmed his statement about having spinal laminectomy and fusion, but that my meaning was simply that someone with a mental disability would have an easier time working in fast food than someone with a physical disability.

  3. snipzor on YouTube says: “By the way, your comparison of Earl Zea and Jolie is absolutely ridiculous, and you should feel bad for making it.”

  4. Interestingly, although my mother refuses to read this blog entry, she independently told me just last week that my father spending the money at Lee Myles was the end of their marriage. My mom always complains about people reneging on agreeements, but the agreement when I was loaned the minivan was that I was not financially responsible for any major repairs of the vehicle.

  5. manofaiki permalink

    There are plenty of jobs out there right now you could be doing for $10/hr or less, but it’s clear from reading your replies to others you think such jobs are beneath you because they do not pay a ‘living wage’, so it’s quite all right if you don’t work one of them while seeking something that does.

    I’m deaf myself – that eliminates me from about 85% of any potential employment, since most jobs require phone work, or talking to customers. When I couldn’t find a job i liked at a wage I wanted, I worked a job I didn’t like at a wage I didn’t want until I could change that.

    You reflexively mock and belittle anybody who points out you’re sitting on your ass complaining about what the world owes you instead of working at any job that you can get – living wage or not.

    Yeah, I’d be defensive too if I was constantly whining about my homelessness & unemployment at the same time I constantly tell people many kinds of jobs are beneath me.

    If you filled out 1,700+ job applications for jobs you weren’t qualified for or couldn’t do, you need to reassess your strategy.

    You’ve made it clear you think fast food jobs are beneath you and you’d never work one while seeking something better. That’s OK. There’s other jobs out there that don’t require you to be on your feet much. How about a greeter at Walmart? They can sit down.

    Oh I forgot. Walmart is evil. That’s beneath you also. Oh and they don’t pay a living wage either. i forgot. My bad.

    You realize you come across as the picky, finicky homeless man who will only take the ‘perfect’ job, right? It’s got to be in the ‘right’ industry & it’s got to page the ‘right’ wages.

    I’ve read many of your blog entries. Here’s my perception of you after reading your interactions with others: you come across as VERY entitled and give off an aura that many things are beneath you.

    There are plenty of jobs out there right now you could be doing, that will allow you to work behind a desk or off your feet, but you won’t pursue them for real because you wallow in excuses like ‘it doesn’t pay a living wage’ or ‘it’s beneath my dignity’.

    Most people who work at McDonalds aren’t making your ‘living wage’. How many of them are homeless, would you say? If they’re not homeless, how do you explain that?

    In 2006 I was making $8/hr working a 40 hour week and I supported myself just fine, paying rent for an apartment, making car payments and feeding myself. What’s your excuse again? You’re not married and you have no dependents. You couldn’t support yourself on a $8/hr job? A $10/hr job? Millions of Americans manage to accomplish it. What’s so special about you?

    Give it some thought.

    • “If you filled out 1,700+ job applications for jobs you weren’t qualified for or couldn’t do, you need to reassess your strategy.” This is an erroneous statement. If I meet or exceed the stated qualifications for a position, and I am not granted an interview for it, in what way is that my fault, particularly if I can’t find anyone who can cite a problem with the resume or cover letter used to apply for that position?

      Also, 44% of homeless people have jobs (http://www.nationalhomeless.org/factsheets/employment.html). That should prove to all rational people that homelessness is the fault of society, not the individual. Shocking numbers of McDonald’s employees are indeed homeless. (http://gawker.com/a-shocking-number-of-homeless-people-have-jobs-1341106397)

      I don’t live near a Wal-Mart. The nearest Wal-Mart is in Secaucus, and the commute via bus outweighs any benefits of taking a job there.

      “You’ve made it clear you think fast food jobs are beneath you and you’d never work one while seeking something better.” Where did I ever say this? How is saying that I don’t meet the physical requirements to do the job the same as saying that a job is beneath me? You are a very bold-faced liar.

      “There are plenty of jobs out there right now you could be doing, that will allow you to work behind a desk or off your feet, but you won’t pursue them for real because you wallow in excuses like ‘it doesn’t pay a living wage’ or ‘it’s beneath my dignity’.” Really, like what? Like telemarketing, where I’ve never lasted more than 1-4 weeks? Did you read this entry? https://scottandrewhutchins.wordpress.com/2013/10/21/why-dont-you-take-a-job-as/

      I am currently in New York City and do not have the funds to relocate. Relocating for that low a wage is asinine, does not take into expense the cost of moving, or the cost/benefit analysis of such a move.

      Thank you for declaring to the world what a liar and a simpleton you are.

    • “I constantly tell people many kinds of jobs are beneath me.” I demand that you cite where I have said that.

Leave a Reply

