Skip to content

I’m Being Sued.

March 25, 2013
My former landlord, North Rim Properties, is suing me for $3,069.76 in backed rent and $500 in attorney fees for a total of $3,569.75.  The marshal told the people who receive my mail that my wages could be garnished to obtain this money.
 
North Rim is being very crooked here.  First of all, when I rented the apartment in 2010, the rent was $950.  They raised the rent retroactively before the year was up, and there was no rider on the lease.  That may or may not be relevant here, and the evidence for this is buried in my storage unit.  They did a breakdown of what I owe them, and it’s absurd.  They already took my security deposit of $981.93.  They were paid through December of 2011.  I moved out on January 15, 2012, and my lease ended March 31, 2012.  They are demanding payment of $87.15 for January, $981.93 for February, $981.93 for March, and $1,108.75 for April.  The latter figure is patently absurd.  The summons actually says “the agreed lease sum of $1,018.75 per month,” when I never agreed to any such sum.  That was the amount on the lease renewal, which I never signed, and they got my keys back in the mail in February.  I have to show up in court within twenty days or they will literally steal this amount from me through garnishment of future wages.  As far as I’m concerned, I owe the landlord nothing, and they are demanding $1,518.75 more than they have any right to even contest.  If they can make me pay them $1,018.75 for April 2012 rent on an apartment I neither occupied nor agreed to pay for, I should be allowed to force anybody to pay me anything I want.
 
I was also sent a letter by Ian H. Rodier of Rodier Law Offices, offering me a free consultation.  The letter notes that my bank accounts will be seized and my wages will be garnished. They have an A+ rating on the Better Business Bureau’s website with only one complaint, so they may be my best bet, but I really do not know.

 

13 Comments
  1. lawyer lou permalink

    Hey Scott, I’m still here for you. I’d like to reach out and help you with this case. Just post a number where I can call you.

    We can definitely beat these turkeys. I know a few slimeball lawyer tricks that will leave their heads spinning. We’ll have them begging us to drop the case – ha ha!

  2. jennipher A parsons permalink

    Thanks for taking my call I will be intouch.

  3. Diva permalink

    Hello. I am being sued by another company that tried to claim they were entitled to more money than we had agreed to. I also received a letter from Ian Rodier. Did you ever contact them? Were they helpful for you?

    • I contacted them, but they made it sound like they6 wouldn’t be much help to me if I have a legitimate debt. They said that the best I could do would be a settlement of the part that I agree that I owe, which is exactly what I got when I represented myself with a few preparatory visits with legal aid. I was told that I could agree to the smaller amount or let the case go to trial and have to pay it all, which sounded like the likely outcome, because I could not prove when I mailed back the key.

  4. Matt Koberlein permalink

    Scott,

    Rodier Law firm makes an attempt to represent you, but actually is working with the creditor. It is fraudulent misrepresentation and is against the law. They send an initial letter with knowledge of your debt that only the creditor would have. They want you to settle so they can get a commission on the settlement. Beware of any attorney that is attempting to represent you before any legal filing by the creditor.

    Regards,

    Matt

  5. Dont worry about this suit. You have no money right now I presume. If eventually they garnish the wages you get, it will not be at 100% anyway…. like alimony, not more than like 20% I think… I could be wrong… These things have a weird logic. If eventually you get a job you can give them $1000 to shut up. Otherwise, the lawyer ends up getting all the money.

  6. Hope it works out. BTW see my blog bronxboyz.me on how to proceed on proofreading. Send me an only 1-page resume by e-mail and then “answer the phone” and it should work… You don’t have to be available all the time, just when you say you will be…

Leave a Reply

